Top Stories

These Four Oscars Categories Will Be Announced During Commercial Breaks

These Four Oscars Categories Will Be Announced During Commercial Breaks

The Academy has announced that four categories will be announced during the commercial breaks at the 2019 Oscars.

For the first time ever, not every winner will have the opportunity to give a live acceptance speech during the show. Instead, the winners of these four categories will accept their awards during the commercial breaks and a video of the speech will be broadcast later in the show.

The Academy is committed to delivering a show that runs just three hours long, so cuts had to be made. The four categories are Cinematography, Live Action Short, Film Editing, and Make-up and Hairstyling.

“While still honoring the achievements of all 24 awards on the Oscars, four categories—Cinematography, Film Editing, Live Action Short, and Makeup and Hairstyling – will be presented during commercial breaks, with their winning speeches aired later in the broadcast,” Academy president John Bailey said in a statement (via Deadline). “And, with the help of our partners at ABC, we also will stream these four award presentations online for our global fans to enjoy, live, along with our audience. Fans will be able to watch on and on the Academy’s social channels. The live stream is a first for our show, and will help further awareness and promotion of these award categories.”

Just Jared on Facebook
Photos: The Academy
Posted to: 2019 Oscars, Oscars

JJ Links Around The Web

Getty Images
  • NFL star Antonio Brown is turning himself into police - TMZ
  • Find out why Ariana Grande is asking fans not to send hate - Just Jared Jr
  • Wendy Williams is responding to accusations that she farted on air - TooFab
  • Justin Bieber once tickled this celebrity while out at a club - Just Jared Jr