Top Stories

Carol Burnett to Receive Golden Globes Special Achievement Award

Carol Burnett to Receive Golden Globes Special Achievement Award

Legendary performer Carol Burnett is set to receive the inaugural 2019 Golden Globe television special achievement award.

From here on out, the award will be known as the Carol Burnett Award, and will be given out yearly at the Golden Globes ceremony!

“For more than 50 years, comedy trailblazer Carol Burnett has been breaking barriers while making us laugh,” HFPA President Meher Tatna said in a statement (via Variety). “She was the first woman to host a variety sketch show, ‘The Carol Burnett Show.’ She was also the first woman to win both the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor and Kennedy Center Honors. And now we add another first to her running list: the first recipient -– and namesake -– of the new Golden Globe top honor for achievement in television, the Carol Burnett Award. We are profoundly grateful for her contributions to the entertainment industry and honored to celebrate her legacy forever at the Golden Globes.”

Carol is a five-time Golden Globe winner and a six-time Emmy winner! Congratulations on the huge honor!

Just Jared on Facebook

JJ Links Around The Web

Photo of Private:  JJ Links Around The Web
Getty Images